The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 24 of 24

User Info Menu

Hi,

I've recently bought a Gibson ES 175 that sounds great. Unfortunately I'm having problems adjusting my left hand to the the thin and wide neck of this guitar.

I've been playing on and off for 30 years and never had any problems in my left hand. Now I'm experiencing pain at the outside base of my left thumb.

I haven't been playing more than usual but it decidedly feels different to play this guitar because of its nick size compared to my other guitars. My hands are quite large so I initially thought a larger neck actually would suit my hans even better.

I love the sound of this guitar and would have to stop playing it so I'm hoping its only a transitional problem!

I'm wondering if anyone else has had this problem?

UPDATE: All the pain has gone now, see my post further down this thread!
    Last edited by git175; 06-06-2018 at 09:22 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hmm. Could be a number of things.

With large hands and a wide, skinny neck your fingers are in closer proximity to your thumb while playing.

Try this: Play air guitar with your left hand an imagine you have a 1956 Les Paul with one of those real fat necks, place your thumb away from your fingers about 1 1/2" and move your fingers around as if you were playing scales. Now replicate playing on your 175 and move your thumb closer to your fingers to about 3/4 of an inch from your fingers and make the same movements. Feel any difference? Is the discomfort replicated? If so you may have to consider parting with the guitar.

No offense intended, but are you older? You could have the beginnings of arthritis. My wife was a dental hygienist until that very thing happened to her.

Thanks for the tips, Vinnie! Luckily I cannot reproduce the discomfort using the air guitar method - so there's hope ;-) And yes, I cannot claim to be that young.

User Info Menu