The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 28

User Info Menu

Hello, guys.

I am studying hybrid picking and I found it very difficult because I don't use nails. I'm thinking about using fingerstyle approach with no nails at all.

Could you point me jazz players that don't use pick and use only flesh to attack the strings?

Thanks in addvanve

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Not recorded examples off the top of my head, but it's not uncommon. There are classical players too, that play with flesh. I play fingerstyle (with nails), as does a friend of mine who teaches at a music school here in Boston. I am fortunate to work and play with a number of very talented players, students, who have the same situation as you, decided to go fingerstyle and don't/can't grow nails.
    I'll just say it's a great sound, the softness of Wes, the flexibility of a full fingerstyle player. Yeah these kids get a great sound, and it's easier when you develop your technique right from the start. As a matter of fact, Mick, the guy I mentioned, has said if he weren't so invested in nail technique already, he most likely would have gone with a short nail/flesh approach if he could do it again. Just enough nail to bite the string with the edge, flesh to round out the sound.
    With the guys I've played with, it's a really nice sound, and the chordal options it opens up for you are huge.

David

User Info Menu

I can't help you directly, but I do champion playing classical guitar without nails. See rmclassicalguitar especially the Players page.

However, when it comes to high-tension bronze strings for my acoustic archtop, I play with a plectrum.

I have, though, in the past, played electric guitar without nails, with medium to low strings, 10s, and not had any problems.

User Info Menu

And remember, it doesn't have to be all or nothing - either / or.