The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 101

User Info Menu

So I recently heard JB say in a video that for him, picking is simply:

When moving to a higher string use a downstroke, and when moving to a lower string use an upstroke. Same string gets alternate.

That seems simple enough I thought to myself -I can do that. Exploring economy/speed picking had been on my to do list for years. Well easier said than done of course. I'm trying to force myself to do it, using lines I know pretty well, and the result is, lines that I had sounding pretty good are now sounding like I just started playing last month.

It seems like a monumental task to unlearn what I've been doing, which I guess is alternate most all the time. Any opinions on how possible this is to convert, and how long it takes?

Also, I must say I'm unclear on what the benefits are. I'm trying to do it on bop style eighths in 4/4. Certainly I see the economy of motion that is occasionally added, but the lines have a rhythm. It doesn't allow me to speed up where alternate is still required, and speeding up only where it comes in changes the rhythmic feel of the line. So I'm not clear what the point is.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm an economy picker and the only advantages it offers over alternate are consistent and smoother string transitions. Bottom line though is that almost any technique will work, depending on what you want to do of course.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by P4guitar
    I'm an economy picker and the only advantages it offers over alternate are consistent and smoother string transitions. Bottom line though is that almost any technique will work, depending on what you want to do of course.
    Hmm.. I do already sweep arps where it makes sense to sweep. That plus alternate is what I've always done.
    I guess I'm trying to get a feel for the investment/reward ratio here.