Jazz Guitar
Learn how to play jazz guitar with our eBook bundle
+ Reply to Thread

Playing with a pick troubles

I have no guitar theory under my belt but play by ear and as a pianist I'm able to decode most anything by ear due to understanding harmonic structure relatively well. The trouble is I approach guitar in a very blocked chord manner ala George Shearing and playing with a plectrum involves skipping strings in a clumsy manner that makes it very difficult for me to time changes effectively. I really like the tone I get when playing lead lines with a pick and I want to get the same tone when playing chordal passages but the fingerings I come up with seem more or less impossible to play in time. When playing fingerstyle the the changes flow fine. I don't think my progressions are exotic or over-reaching. Dodging open strings to strike the fretted strings is the problem. Do I alter my pick technique and practice or find alternate fingerings that allow for better use with a pick?

There is no need to dodge the open strings. Left hand muting of the not-needed-at-this-time strings is the answer. Allow the left-hand fingers that are holding down the fretted notes to touch the to-be-muted strings. Sometimes a slight tilt of the fretting hand is needed, at others a slightly off-center fingering will suffice. No need for string skipping. I hope this helps.
    Best regards, k

That doesn't seem to be very effective, for me at least. I've tried muting. Seems to me that from watching vids of accomplisher players that there is SOME skipping going on and in most cases quite a bit of melodic single note picking peppered in between strummed chordal moments. Just can't get comfortable alternating both.

Play it fingerstyle, mute with left hand, or break up chords rhythmically to skip strings. Those are the basics I'm aware of.