The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

View Poll Results: What is your primary picking style?

Voters
225. You may not vote on this poll
  • Fingerpicking good!

61 27.11%
  • Plectrum/pick

121 53.78%
  • Hybrid country style

33 14.67%
  • My thumb

10 4.44%
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 68

User Info Menu

So, I'm at a point where I kind of need to pick a primary picking style.

I started playing rock/pop and of course a pick is great for most of that. Then, when I started playing jazz, it was a combo of pick and hybrid.

As I started to appreciate piano playing and chord melody more, I switched to strict fingerstyle.

Of course, there's advantages to each. I prefer fingerstyle, because most of my influences are pianistic, but I cannot get any fluidity with lines.

It's hard to cleanly arpeggiate chords with a pick and you cannot get them at the same time.

Hybrid, you can only use three fingers, fingerpicking, you got 4. That makes a big difference.

So, I thought it'd be fun to start a thread. What's YOUR primary picking style and why? Apologies if this has already been done before here. I'm not that prolific here.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm a hybrid picker, been so since my teen days, trying to fill out lead lines more in the "jam band" style group I was in. It's just what feels natural to me.

I will also play completely "fingers-only" from time to time, particularly when playing nylon string.

User Info Menu

Hi, I mostly play lines with a modified flamenco rest stroke technique. It gets me closer to the kind of attack that I enjoy from Gypsy Jazz rest stroke picking.

im alternation, various ima alternations, and also some reverse raking. I incorporated the raking because strict flamenco technique is not much use for improvising and it is especially bad for wide intervals.