The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

Hi folks, total noobie here (my first post, after getting quite excited as a lurker on this forum

Been playing guitar on and off for a long time, strictly as a hobby. As a big admirer of John McLaughlin, Larry Coryell et al, I was always naturally gravitating toward more muscular playing. Slowly and gradually, managed to build my technique to the level where I felt I could play some of their stuff at a brisk tempo, although never as good as I felt I should (which is understandable, since I'm strictly an amateur player).

Then I stumbled upon Bireli Lagrene and Sylvain Luc's playing. That was a life changing moment for me, as it forced me to totally reconsider my approach to guitar playing. I realized that my technique was rather poor, and that these players are somehow pushing the guitar to another level, in terms of articulation.

Upon closer examination (recording myself 'burning' of the guitar and then listening back very carefully) I came to the realization that my plain vanilla alternate picking technique is producing flat, lifeless sound. I then went back and started learning about Bireli's approach, and of course that led me to the manouche, or Romane, or gypsy jazz picking technique. From the theoretical standpoint, the gypsy picking doctrine sounded absolutely counter-intuitive and almost ludicrous to me, but since I was losing faith in my playing, I had nothing to lose so I tried the gypsy technique.

Much to my amazement, despite the fact that this technique felt extremely alien to me, I started almost immediately hearing a much better articulation pouring out of my guitar! Despite clumsiness, despite pain and discomfort that I started feeling in my picking hand wrist, the improvement in the tone and musicality of my playing was undeniable.