The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 50 of 50

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by christianm77
    An artist is as defined by their limitations as their strengths.

Personally I’ve never gone out of my way to learn a hero’s technique, although I do find it almost as interesting to watch guitar players as to listen to them.

But the players I like are diverse technically, so I’d end up a bit confused anyway.

Basically a self taught guy in terms of chops, I relearned right hand technique a few years ago to cope with acoustic guitar. This had the side effect of making everything i play sound like Django haha. So people started to hear me as a Django guy. I love Django, but I would say I’ve spent as much time studying Charlie Christian, Wes and so on. It’s funny.
    I seem to recall you doing several Charlie Christian clips a few years back, kind of going for the whole package of sound, notes, vibe, etc. Looked like a very fun and useful project.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Ok when can i collect my $1000?

User Info Menu

Nice work! I'll throw in a buck <g>.

There's also a link in there to a transcription of that solo. Worth looking at (for the lazy, non-transcriber) because it has some characteristic CC sounds, like E D Bb G Eb E C (mostly descending) against C7.

Another indication that great improvisers make some straightforward note choices sound like a personal style.
    Cmixo with a quick blue note (later part of Chuck Berry's style) and it sounds like CC.

User Info Menu

Fact is, if I did not emulate my heroes' technique... I would not have any technique.

User Info Menu