The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 31 of 31

User Info Menu

I worked with Joe Diorios book Intervallic Designes over the years .. Creamer extends some of that kind of thinking..

while the sound of invervals may open some doors to extended improvisiation exploration..they have to be intergrated into your vocabulary and used with
    some skill..after you work with them for a bit they tend to become boring if not used in a harmonic/melodic way..

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

They sound to me like good "get away" lines. I've put some of them under my fingers and since they are using 12 notes I can use just whichever I want starting anywhere, I just phrase it differently accentuating different notes everytime. Like making chromatic scale sound like Major scale. If that makes sense...

User Info Menu

A belated response here. I studied with Dave Creamer on and off for four years, 1976 to 1980. In that time I collected about two books' worth of his exercises (beautifully notated by his girlfriend, I recall). The range of the material was incredible: from standard (but immaculately constructed) ii-V7-I lines, to intricate chordal studies, to melodies built on fifths, on fourths, and on seconds, to whole-tone scale and diminished-scale melody studies, to 12-tone scale lines -- not to mention various picking techniques. The time and practice required to absorb this material was extensive. I considered it my graduate school of guitar -- I had already been a good blues-rock guitarist, but study with Creamer was ear- and mind-expanding.

Just before that time he had been in a Bay Area band called Listen, with saxophonist Mel Martin and the phenomenal steel-drum player Andy Narell. They produced, I think, one album, and it's well worth checking out. Creamer penned at least one of the tunes.