The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 41 of 41

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by rob taft
    I wish this was me playing but it is Sylvain Courtney. I studied Flamenco for 6+ months. I would agree that that isn't sufficient but while I understand your recommendation, when it comes to single line jazz playing I'm trying to emulate this guy.

Wowwwww. Fantastic. Amazing technique.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Aretium
    Can I be a big noob, and ask about electric guitars. I have a crappy one at home. It has no space between the strings. That video with sylvain seems to have wider spacing. Can you buy wider fretted electric guitars?
    Yes, but they are not that common but it is more than nut width. It is nut width and the string spacing at the bridge as well. You also have to remember that the string spacing does not have to be as wide as a typical nylon string guitar as electric string say a .12 gauge are not as thick especially GBE strings. That said, there are a lot of 1 3/4" nut width archtops out there but in many cases the neck width as it approaches the body isn't much different than a normal width neck.

I own a special purpose built guitar that has a nearly 2 1/4" spacing at the bridge which I find ideal but had I known at the time about something like the Peerless Martin Taylor Maestro I would have gone that route. If I can believe the specs, that guitar has a nut width is 1.76 inch and the width at the 12th fret 2.16 inches and 2.33″ at the 20th fret

Martin Taylor is certainly no slouch with his fingers although when he really wants to play fast, although when he plays really fast single lines, he usually uses a pick.

Peerless Martin Taylor Maestro | Guitars 'n Jazz

User Info Menu

I once asked Thomas Fellow how to play fast single-note-lines with fingers. He replied, that the secret to speed is relaxation.