The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Posts 26 to 50 of 60

User Info Menu

When I was a kid, my aunt used to drink gelatine powder dissolved in hot water to help with brittle, cracking nails. She swore by it. You might want to do a bit of web research on it.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I had a tough time keeping my nails up when I studied classical for a couple of years. Going to fingerstyle for solo jazz was a deal breaker for my nails. I didn't like just finger tips, so I went to acrylic overlays about 3 years ago. No fake nails, just a layer of resin over mine. Works great. I keep em pretty short, just peeking out past my finger tips.

User Info Menu

Yes, I didn't put false nails on. I did the same as Derek and had them apply the acrylic over mine. Like I said earlier, 2 years and they work like a charm.

Bill

User Info Menu

Anyone have good nail file suggestions? I find that most files create too much of a "sharp" edge whereas good files in the past let me get a more rounded edge be better tone.

User Info Menu

I keep L/H very short. R/H P-I-M-A just long enough and shaped so no edge will catch string accidentally. I use a regular Revlon file -shaping side first, finishing side second. If your obsessive you can completely smooth the playing edge with a small piece of 600 grit sandpaper.

perfect nails.

sailor

Do a search on this nail fortifier called 'Onymyrrhe'. It is a highly recommended product on delcamp.net, which is a popular classical guitar forum.

Are your nails obnoxiously long, that's why they break easily? You should keep your nails long enough just that it can produce the tone but short enough so that it is not brittle. A good gauge will be taking a nail filer and making sure that at the moment when your nail and the flesh of the finger are touching the nail filer at the same time, the nail filer remains vertically straight.