The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Posts 26 to 50 of 63

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by rodite135
    Did not read all the post but there is a YouTube video of Pat doing a tv show in Japan in which he explains his technique is horrible. When you watch his approach you wonder how he does it. Cause his right hand plectrum work is crazy. Goes to show how jazz is about lots of different stuff unrelated sometimes to technique.
    That's why the bottom line is always what works for you.

From what I've read Pat pretty much self taught being guitar was his rebellion from his trumpet playing family. Also Pat became obsessed with guitar and his grades got so bad in school his parents took his guitar away for a semester. Which Pat says helped because he just practiced guitar in his head and probably spent even more time thinking about guitar than when he had his physical one.

I'd like to know more about his time at Berklee, everyone says he went, but no one talks about how he did. Great time to be at Berklee then Metheny, Scofield, Stern, Frissell, Juris, and others all around the same time.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by 3625

As an aside, this is the kind of thread Rich should participate in, instead of the usual... hint hint
    here, i think i can fill in adequately

"blah blah blah REAL PLAYER blah blah blah JAZZ NERDS blah blah blah DOESN'T HAVE GOOD TIME"

User Info Menu