The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 54

User Info Menu

I tried using my strap Wes' way years ago and understand his reasons. The L5 goes way out of tune quickly with this hook up though. Anybody else have a similar experience? You can't get that Freddy Green/Art Ryerson tilt any other way though. Seems like it only works when your sitting.
    Attached Images Attached Images Wes Montgomery's Guitar Strap strapped at the head stock guitar facing up at you.-wes-montgomery-jpg 
    Last edited by ChuckCorbis; 10-18-2013 at 01:23 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

How about that??

User Info Menu

Very cool! Nice! I bet Wes loves it. No out of tune octaves there.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by ChuckCorbisiero
    Very cool! Nice! I bet Wes loves it. No out of tune octaves there.
    Hey Chuck. Nice to see you back posting again.

User Info Menu

Cool Patrick. I started playing again so, I feel more comfortable contributing. Thanks. It's nice to be here with you. Life's good.

I tried using my strap Wes' way years ago and understand his reasons. The L5 goes way out of tune quickly with this hook up though. Anybody else have a similar experience? You can't get that Freddy Green/Art Ryerson tilt any other way though. Seems like it only works when your sitting.
    Makes sense though, you can't put that kind of tension on the fast neck of the L5. I've never seen Wes play standing
    up (like George Benson) so I guess he adopted that strap position because of comfort as the normal strap pin is
    on the upper part of the treble bout or in the middle of the neck heel at the base. With a 17inch L5 that is the
    best place and balance for the neck strap pin.

Quote Originally Posted by disco~juice

How about that??

That works too. Bit unorthadox, but it seems to work great. Guess it really depends on your comfort level