The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 311

User Info Menu

Greetings all you beautiful people!, ive been noticing the way Andreas Oberg uses his pick, (Him and many many others)
    Their picking hand doesnt touch the guitar at all, just the pick. I just started practicing this technique this week and its super awkward for now, was wondering if anybody had any insight or experience with this!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I think Oberg developed some of his great style playing with the Hot Club of Norway, and anchoring to the top is usually not done in that genre. Gypsy guitars don't sound their best when the the top is dampened and Gypsy instructors will usually discourage it. Muting the soundboard of any acoustic guitar may be counterproductive, depending on intent.

User Info Menu

I recently made the switch from anchored to floating a couple of months ago, though I mainly use economy picking instead of strict alternate. I'm now a floating convert, it's better for the tendons in your wrist and you get more volume/dynamics. The big muscle at the base of my thumb (abductor pollicis brevis) gently grazes the G,B and high E strings, whereas on the low E, A and D strings it's just the pick. I'm pretty happy this way for now, will be interested to see what other people have figured out.

I found this article by Julian Lage about picking: