The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 77

User Info Menu

I started playing jazz a few months back and my new teacher told me I shouldn't be economy picking. In most occassions it's not that hard to switch over to alternate picking, but when I'm playing certain lines that have one note per string and go from the A string to the high E, I'm still struggling. Is it really that important for your sound and timing to be alternate picking EVERYTHING and should I try to change it?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I use economy picking, it feels more natural for me than alternate.
    I would suggest doing what feels most comfortable for you. It is also a question of what sound you are looking for. Economy sounds more fluid and legato, alternate sounds more percussive.
    Frank Gambale is using economy and sweep picking only, and he has incredible technique-some of the best out there.
    Pat Metheny mentioned in an interview that he might want to take some lessons from Gambale to work on his picking technique. Sylvain Luc is another guitarist that, although he is using a lot of different techniques such as legato and finger-style, sounds like he is using economy for his faster lines.

User Info Menu

If those great guitarists do it, I think I'm gonna stick with it as well. Like you said, alternate picking doesn't feel natural to me either. Why go around a string when you can just hit it in the same exact movement? Thanks for your input!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Desafinado
    If those great guitarists do it, I think I'm gonna stick with it as well. Like you said, alternate picking doesn't feel natural to me either. Why go around a string when you can just hit it in the same exact movement? Thanks for your input!
    Yeah, I agree. Just watch out with the timing, sometimes it is easy to rush a bit especially in slower tempos.