The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 24 of 24

User Info Menu

Hello guys!

If you have a good idea about training the right hand (well im right-handed so lets not be confused, I want to make up my right hand speed with the pick), share it here, please.

I am stuck with it for a while now, what would be better. A gypsy picking technique, or "up and down", or just a technique which takes the rhythm of the music into account and the picking is related to that, or what would be the best method for that?

So what is the perfect training method for that?

thx

laci

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Oh boy...

User Info Menu

we've been over this one a bunch of times. i'm no expert but will attempt a short run down.

economy picking is probably the fastest. (see Gambale, Bruno)

Gypsy picking can be very fast too but is not needed for electric guitar playing. if you want to play one of those acoustic Gypsy guitars that is a different story.

alternate picking is the most prevalent but people may also complement it with limited sweep picking for some types of arpeggio playing.

These techniques DON'T all sound the same however. So, do you have 1-3 players who define the type of playing/sound that you wish to emulate, or very nearly so? if so, find out how they approach technique and strongly consider doing likewise. each of the above will require a lot of hard work to master. its best to pick your poison (so to speak).
    Last edited by fumblefingers; 04-30-2012 at 12:18 AM.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by JakeAcci
    Oh boy...

Well, my apologizes, but I was too lazy to do the research here in the forum topics. In the other hand, there may be new infos about that, or webiste suggestions, or something like that.

Sry for the question

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by fumblefingers
    we've been over this one a bunch of times. i'm no expert but will attempt a short run down.