The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16
    Hi,

I've been playing the (electric) guitar now for 4 to 5 years and
    I really want to learn sweep picking. I've tried a bit but found out
    that I need help. I've looked on youtube but haven't found what I am looking for, so I thought I'd ask you guys if someone of you had hints on starting.

Can anyone of you tell me how he mastered sweep picking?
    Could you recommend any DVDs or books on that technique? I know it's going to be a long way and (perhaps) blisters on my hands but I am willing to spend time on it. By the way, if you know a DVD or instructional book which is like from the rock or metal genre and teaches you sweep picking very well, let me know.I know that sweep picking is giant thing in metal, I don't mind playing or practising riffs from other genres if they help.

Thank you and looking forward to getting some hints

Blue(s) Skies

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Sweeping is a serious test of patience. You can learn how to do it but you reall NEED to be patient and persistent. It's also a very boring procedure. It litereally is the only technique I've ever properly practiced with discipline.

Whatever shape you decide to start with, the key is to do as follows:

*Start incredibly slow and play to a click track/metronome

*Ensure you are not picking each string with a seperate movement, but rather playing one fluent downward and upward motion

*Start with the three highest strings (meaning six notes in total) and gradually increase the number of strings

When I say all this I really mean you have to be seriously committed to slowing the whole exercise down so much that time may indeed stop. It's all about perfecting the technique as much as possible before speeding up where you'll have less control.