The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

So I have a pretty big gig coming up in a few weeks....the catch is I and my other bandmates have to wear masks, (it's a Eyes Wide Shut type gig, hahaha, just kidding...) no, but it is a costume party.

Anyhow the masks we decided on are very difficult to see out of and I know it's going to be dark and hot at the gig, so looking at the fretboard is not an option (I'm a fretboard starer). Luckily I know the tunes very well and there are not too many difficult sections...

To get to my point, I started practicing the set with the mask on the other night, in the dark and no AC... (I live on the 6th FL in NYC and it's been pretty hot lately.) After the initial disorientation I started to get really comfortable and was playing lines and ideas I normally wouldn't have. So I'm starting to think this may be a good thing and may just start to do it all the time, no looking at patterns and shapes, just ears. Anyone else have this type of awakening (sans mask obviously)???

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

It's cliche, but you know i'm "feeling it" when the eyes close, the head tilts slightly skyward, and the mouth hangs open a little.

User Info Menu

I never look at the fretboard when I'm playing. It's just too disgusting to look at.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by hot ford coupe
    I never look at the fretboard when I'm playing. It's just too disgusting to look at.
    i had someone say the other day "you should clean your guitar, it's filthy"....my reply " Why? I like it dirty"

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by djangoles
    i had someone say the other day "you should clean your guitar, it's filthy"....my reply " Why? I like it dirty"

In my case, the guitar is clean but the sight of my fingers always going tin the wrong place and getting tangled up makes me sick so I don't look,

User Info Menu