The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18
    Hey everyone, I've been playing for a few years so not exactly a beginner but thought this would the most appropriate forum for my questions (also I'm essentially going back to square one in my technique, so I suppose I am a beginner, again).

Anyway after a long bout with tendonitis my orthopedist gave me the okay to start practicing again. Aside from some warm-up exercises, (quarter notes at 40BPM; picking, legato, sweeping - 10 minutes each), to build up muscle memory, I'm going to be working out of Peter Sprague's Method book as well as Andrew Green's Jazz Guitar Technique (got the Comping and Structures books as well, but those are further down the line). Other than than it will be learning tunes, improvising, messing around, etc. The practice sessions will be in increments of 30-45 minutes with time inbetween to stretch, ice, etc.

Now my questions have to do with playing position while practicing. I am mainly going to be practicing with my acoustic, mostly because of the higher action, heavier strings, and it being generally more difficult to play due to the width of the body. I play right-handed, and got a footrest to help with the positioning, which has been great. After going back and forth between resting the guitar on either my right or left leg, I decided to practice classical style since it made it a bit easier to keep my fingers arched/always be on the tips and play higher up the neck without feeling contorted (although I think with my electric I'm going to play with it resting on my right leg). The problem I am having is with muscle cramping; the lower-right side of my back gets cramped pretty quickly and my left glute muscle starts to cramp up after a while. Now I stretch my entire body before playing and stretch regularly since I bike quite often as well as exercise, so it seems stretching is not the issue.