The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16
    Question:

Some of the method material I've been looking at highly recommends using the pinky finger. I've been a Wes fanatic since childhood, but new to learning to play jazz.

I know some jazz players who rarely use the pinky, but most seem to use it frequently. As a newbie, I don't want to start any bad habits. Do any of you have a strong opinions on this? Can I get away with using the pinky most of the time?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Why wouldn't you use it? It's just another weapon in your arsenal.

Not often that I need to. My 3rd finger stretches just fine. I do, on occasion use the pinky to bend notes, but rarely for runs.

Most books I've seen assume the use of the pinky more often.

User Info Menu

If you think in terms of "how many voices can I have moving?" instead of "runs", you will find that the pinky is no different than any other finger that lets you have at your disposal.

User Info Menu

It's very difficult to build technique without proper fingerings... your "pinky" is part of those fingerings. We are not talkin R&R, to play jazz you really need the best technique. Other styles of music use different styles of fingerings which help create those styles or sounds... Best Reg

User Info Menu

when it comes to playing chords, you're going to be quite limited if you don't use your pinky.

Sure, I use my pinky all the for chords. It's scales and licks that I'm concerned with related to pinky use.

For example, on Jimmy Bruno's site, he states that using the "correct" fingering is crucial (and uses third and fourth fingers to start most "shapes". If developing my use of the pinky really is important for jazz, then I'm going to practice "shapes" like Jimmy. But if it's possible to get away with only using in minimally (like Wes), then I won't invest the time in developing the muscle memory.

I appreciate all of your comments.

User Info Menu