The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Posts 51 to 69 of 69

User Info Menu

I have no personal experience with the FHC or RC1000, but I have two repro RC1100s and I really, really like them. All three models, as vintage, are incredibly expensive. An original monkey-on-a-stick will set you back a very pretty penny, and the original output cable, if present, almost always needs replacement because of deterioration with age.

I don't see that touching the top is much of an issue, if any, on an acoustic. The top doesn't vibrate much at all at the end of the neck, and the pickups are very light. I use a small hard foam block and some putty under the 1100, to keep it in place. Without that it can rotate around the rod. The pickguard usually keeps it in place, but I don't use a pickguard. I went for the 1100 specifically for the adjustable polepieces, and I'm glad I did. I've had bronze, nickel, monel, and steel wound strings on the same guitar at different times, and they help maintain a balanced output. I'm sold on the RC1100 repro pickup. It's certainly not a high output pickup. But lately I've been playing a Benedetto with a set pickup, and I love that, too. The FHC doesn't sound at all acoustic to me, in the videos I've seen. Few magnetic pickups do, though, if any.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

What you're describing is a little bit like the differences between 2 different (vintage) GM brands ... packaging

Maybe the FHC letters stand for something significant. Just for giggles: you couldn't power an actual electret or piezo microphone from the voltage generated in the PU, right?

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by sgosnell