The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 43

User Info Menu

Yeah, you've probably covered this 100 times. But hey, I'm a new guy. I'm an experienced guitarist, (fingerstyle blues), just venturing into jazz. I picked up a nice older Ibanez hollowbody with P90s. It's a great guitar, but the Fender Acoustasonic 30 I'm playing through isn't giving me what I want.

I've done a lot of reading, and I think a Roland cube is what I want. It's now between the 30 and 60. I plan to play mostly at home, but really want the tone. At medium volume, does the 60 have any tonal advantage over the 30? Is the 60 going to be overkill for home use?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

May I suggest you to bring your guitar to the guitar center and plug it in...

I play a Telecaster on my cube 60. I use the JC channel most of the time with my effect pedals in front (chorus, overdrive, delay and compressor) and sometimes I use the black face channel. I absolutely love this amp.

When I bought it, I wanted an amp that could make it thru if I ever played with others (drums etc). I'm a basement player, so I keep the volume low execpt when the wife and kids are away... This amp can be pretty loud. Among other things that I like: Headphone, line out, reverb.

Good luck in your hunt.

Thanks for the input, Jean. Actually, I'm within 1/2 mile of both a Guitar Center and a Sam Ash. Both have the micro cube, which I have tried. (Nice for what it is, but not what I need). Sam Ash has the Cube 15 in stock, but not out on the floor for sampling. Neither has the 30 or 60. I'll probably go ahead and order the 60, since that's what I hear the most praise about!

User Info Menu