The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

Seriously looking at an Ibanez GB10, but who else makes a 15" archtop, preferably with a single neck pickup? Eastman AR503ce is in the running - 16" I think. Number of pickups not a deal breaker, though would prefer single neck PU unless it's the Ibanez. Budget is around $2500-$2700. Didn't/doesn't Eastman make a smaller archtop that is thinner?

Also: I've got a really nice tortoise Pete Biltoft CCH - wonder how it would sound in the Eastman 503? If I went that route, I would yank all the electronics and rewire with all new US parts.

Also thinking about the Gretsch 6122-1959 since I play Chet stuff a lot but I think it's 17". I've played Teles so long that a full sized archtop just isn't comfortable.

Open for suggestions.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi Skip:
    I’ve little experience with Eastman or Gretsch so won’t comment. But here’s what I do know on a CCH a the GB10.
    I did try a Biltoft CCH on my PM200. I just could not warm to it, but that just may be me. I didn’t care for the feel while playing. It did sound its own sound. However after a life of humbuckers that’s probably not a surprise.

I think you’ll find GB10 players here are pretty solid behind that guitar. My GB10 (MIJ) is my favorite over my collection: L5, TF, LGB300, PM200, AF200. Very comfortable, the neck is not ‘skinny’ but measures close to the TF neck. I have a Fralin custom wound at the neck and it’s a nice blend of the guitar’s inherent punch and HB warmth.

Since I’m fighting back from some fractured vertebrae, the small body love on my part might be fueled by my comfort playing.

But… as always it’s what feels, plays and sounds like that inspires you, not forum members.

jk

User Info Menu

The Eastman AR603CE is a 15" archtop.

User Info Menu