The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Posts 26 to 50 of 201

User Info Menu

Sorry for the stupid answer, i'm kind of new to jazz boxes, but i'm surprised by how much treble you can get, sounds to me like the acoustic sound was picked up also. Does all this clarity and almost acoustic quality only come from the mag pu and the speaker ? If so, i'm impressed ! Sounds like a full freq. range amp
    Last edited by xuoham; 12-12-2012 at 11:22 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by xuoham
    Sorry for the stupid answer, i'm kind of new to jazz boxes, but i'm surprised by how much treble you can get, sounds to me like the acoustic sound was picked up also. Does all this clarity and almost acoustic quality only come from the mag pu and the speaker ? If so, i'm impressed ! Sounds like a full freq. range amp
    Hey Xuoham,

I'm pretty new to archtops too. I've been working alot with tone using my strat and some basic principles with attenuating otherwise very loud amps. A good amp with alot of headroom is a beautiful thing in my book. Now I'm experimenting with using what I've learned about amplification and applying it to the archtop. I haven't found a lot online about this kind of thing applied to archtops and so I'm experimenting and learning as I go.

The amp has a lot of headroom and when it's cranked (but attenuated) it seems to bring out the sound of the wood in the guitar (the acoustic quality you mentioned). I was working with it tonight as well and the wood / clarity / acoustic quality was all there in the room. The Port City cabs really help with that though. I'll keep experimenting and try to post some more vids to let you know how it goes.

Here are the details for the amp, etc.

Amp - Egnater Tourmaster 4100
    (6L6 Head), running super hot (main volume, and preamp volumes on 8)
    Attenuator - THD Hot Plate