The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 37 of 37
    No speaker output. Definitely wish it did.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by omphalopsychos
    ...But I really think quilter is onto something special that isn’t digital modeling.
    I whole-heartedly agree! I was Fender and Mesa since 1971. I got an Aviator about 5 years ago. About 2 years later I jumped to TB202 in BlockDock 12, and then added a BD10. For me at least, it has far superior tone controls than the older Quilter. But it's the response and 'feel' of the amp that rocks my world. That magic is in the Limiter VS Gain settings I think. I'm usually in the same ballpark as you with those.

At first I was sorta wussy with the limiter: "I'm a great guitarist. Why would I want to limit any part of my playing?" But it's actually quite subtle and doesn't work exactly like a studio type limiter. In keeping with Pat's love of fly-speak, he says it works more like a hand on the throttle that doesn't do anything until things get a little hot, and then it's still not like a hard limit. Maybe more like a governor?

One thing to remember when comparing this to a TMTwin: the actual twin is a solid state rectifier. Not 'squishy' in the slightest. I like a bit of squishy. I like being able to dial in the right amount at any volume. And that's Quilter territory.

Guess I'm nothing more than a fanboy.... :-(

User Info Menu

Is a Superblock US like an Aviator Cub without a speaker? Controls and voices appear similar. Based on all the positive feedback I’m considering the Superblock US.

It’s the same except it’s 25w instead of 50w. Depending on your use case that might be plenty. My friend who has one says it’s plenty for rehearsals with a loud drummer. He plays it through a 1x12 cab with an eminence ga sc64, which is a pretty efficient speaker.

User Info Menu