The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 13 of 13

User Info Menu

I always figured I'd use my AI Corus for just jazz gigs and big band gigs, but I decided to try an experiment for a musical I'm playing that features a lot of acoustic guitar-nylon and steel string, and some early rock styles.There's no pre-1960 music in the show.
    I decided to try a combination I've never used before, my parker solid body and the AI.
    The AI brings out the acoustic sound of the Parker's piezo beautifully for the acoustic parts, and even handles my Boss Super OD pedal nicely.
    Experiment = Success!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Love my Corus Series III.

User Info Menu

I always thought the Corus was especially great for nylon string guitar.

Quote Originally Posted by Jonathan0996
    I always thought the Corus was especially great for nylon string guitar.
    Yeah, they're superb for any acoustically based string instrument.
    I'm literally in Nirvana on this show, because the blend with the piezo and the keyboard, cello and violin is out of this world!
    The fact that they are classically trained musicians, who can also play the heck out of the rock-based numbers doesn't hurt either.

The Corus can also handle my Boss Super OD pedal fine. The guys in the band thought I was using at least two guitars on the show; an electric and an acoustic.
    The writing for guitar was done by Michael Starobin, who has orchestrated for Sondheim and many others, and really knows how to make both single-lines and chords blend in with the other instruments beautifully.
    If I had chosen any of my other six amps for this show , it would've been a real letdown. The same goes for guitars.

The AI Corus was so good, the bass player thought I was playing acoustic guitar all this time!.
    I much prefer playing a show like this than using some fat,bloated body, flat top with with damn .013s on it.