The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 22 of 22
    Great forum here. I'm a tenor sax bebop player but recently switched to guitar due to a bad case of tinnitus.

Can anyone suggest best settings on this amp and guitar to get a classic bebop sound (basic VOX amp and IbaneZ as73-tbc 5b-03 guitar)?

Thanks for any help - i'm a bit of newb with the guitar so far

jazz tone/sound-image0-1-jpeg

jazz tone/sound-image1-jpeg

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

For the guitar, may I suggest: Lower the pickups to where they sit more or less flush with the top of the mounting rings. If you have time and patience, replace the springs of the pickup with surgical tubing, which will eliminate annoying buzzing. Lowering the pickup allows for a wider sampling of the string - richer and mellower tone. Compensate for lower output with the Volume control on the amp.

For the amp, I would begin by setting the T, M. and B controls to their middle position and tweak from there. If there is a master volume, keep it relatively high and the gain low enough to produce a clean tone.

Where I differ from common practice is in my use of both neck and bridge pickups, using the volume and tone knobs to fine-tune my tone. On my ES-175, this is generally in the 4 - 6 for tones and 7 - 8 for volume. My Ibanezes take similar settings. Much depends on the musical context. Audiation is relative and over-all volume and instrumentation make a difference. My home practice settings are almost always quieter and mellower than what I use performing.

Remember, as they say on That Pedal Show: "What is a good tone? One that can be heard." S'truth!
    Last edited by citizenk74; 07-02-2022 at 11:45 AM.

User Info Menu

There really are no "best settings." You have to turn the knobs, use your ears and find it for yourself. Every guitar, amp, speaker, string, pick and set of hands is different. And nobody knows what the "classic bebop sound" means to your ears.