The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I just stumbled across the Quilter Frontliner 2x8w cabs. Anyone have any experience?

(They do seem ungodly priced).

My worry is that the Frontliner will be hyper-pushed and have little sense of air.

They look interesting to me. I like 10s a lot more then 8s.

Maybe, I do not have enough experience, but to me 8s seem to lack depth, and become blurry with time based fx that are in front of the preamp. Again, my experiences are limited and I am no expert. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

If you use or have more experience with 8s, please tell me your thoughts.
    Last edited by st.bede; 06-20-2022 at 04:27 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I like 2x8 cabs, and have owned several brands/styles; no experience with the Quilter, though. [Since VBoutique makes cabs for Quilter and others, contact them and ask about a 2x8 -- it will be significantly less than the Quilter!]

The "jazz guitar" 2x8s are often high-power "PA" or even bass speakers, but you can get lower-watt, guitar speakers (i.e., 25W x 2, so 50W total) that still work well, depending on your amp. My main amps are 20W tube amps, so a 50W cab is fine. There are certainly differences between a 400W and a 50W cab, but both still push some air, and all the differences will be subjective, so "it depends" on what you like. The 2x8 will also be significantly lighter than a 2x10, so if you're looking for an easier carry, consider a 2x8!

User Info Menu