The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 46

User Info Menu

Between two solid days of battling with the Canadian Post just to get delivery of a guitar I objectively don't need and two weeks of trying to organize a modular amp/effects setup, I feel like I've finally hit that aha moment where my brain is starting to ask myself why on earth I'm doing all of this scrambling with gear when all I really need is two guitars and an amp that can do a reasonable facsimile of a low volume Blackface tone. Between the blue Soloway (that I've been playing for about 12 years) for lowered tunings plus my Mustang for standard tuning, I already have the two guitars that do everything I need (or am likely to ever need). A simple Fender Champion 40 does the basic tone I'm use and it does it at any volume level that I'm likely to need and if I ever start playing small restaurants again I can pick up a Chamîon 20 for $140 Canadian. So why am I bothering with all of this buying, testing, and selling (rinse and repeat over and over). Time for me to go into selling mode and get down to what I need and stop wasting money and time that would be better used to just play music.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Well said. Buying gear is for collectors, it doesn't improve your sound.

User Info Menu

Jim… realizations like that…
    Its a 70’s thing)
    (I follow you in August)

User Info Menu

Yep, with 15 guitars and 4 amps my gear needs are met.

No mas. Unless a great deal on something interesting comes up that is.

User Info Menu

Stop making sense Jim!

I look forward to watching this unfold. Is it really an epiphany, or just a moment.? Will it happen? How long can he hold out?

User Info Menu

You know, Jim, such blasphemy will get you "canceled" on this Forum, so ...

User Info Menu

gear is great

but it’s not as great as music !

User Info Menu