The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 44 of 44

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Stringswinger
    This will give University Professors of Marketing something to discuss for many years to come.
    That calls for an apocryphal "university professors of marketing" story! I got my MBA from St Joe's many years ago the old fashioned way - 2 years, in person, no internet! We had 6 person teams in each class, and mine was generally great. I was partnered with a guy who did fundraising for nonprofits, a salesperson for medical equipment, a guy who had been RIF'ed by CSX in the middle of the big merge & shuffle period, an insurance company manager, and an engineer at the Boeing Vertol plant outside Philly.

Our marketing classes were run by two profesors who were full of themselves and thought none of us could possibly know anything until they taught it to us. This was right after McDonald's tried and failed with the McLean Deluxe, a healthy "burger" made largely of a seaweed derivative that I actually liked but no one else did. They couldn't give them away and dropped them like hot rocks in 1996. Our marketing profs used the McLean Deluxe as an example of niche marketing, in that they claimed it was a failure because Micky D's was a kid's restaurant and they didn't stick to their niche with the seaweed burger.

My teammate the engineer raised his hand and asked these two geniuses if they'd ever tasted one, to which they replied no. Ed responded exactly as you'd expect an engineer to respond with "It failed because it sucked!" He then pointed out that he worked at the Boeing plant across the street from a huge McDonalds, and most of the clientele were Boeing employees - there were rarely any kids in there. The response was a simple "you're wrong, Mr McKeever".