The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 41

User Info Menu

At this morning’s big band rehearsal, the guitarist had a Peavey Backstage Chorus, a small-ish SS amp with 2 8” speakers. I had never seen one before but then PV seems to have made dozens of amp models over the years.

I got to thinking about PV Bandits. There are a lot of different versions: 65 watt, 85 watt, 100 watt, teal stripe, Transtube etc. Some versions are rated higher than others, apparently.

Can anyone tell me the Bandit story?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Mmmm, no.

User Info Menu

I love the teal version, but the used ones here are in a very bad shape

User Info Menu

Believe it or not someone did take the time to write it down

Please Wait... | Cloudflare

Never did much for me

User Info Menu

Years ago when I started playing bigband, there was this red stripe Bandit at the rehearsal location. I think it was 80 Watt or so. It was hardly loud enough for nomal rythm guitar playing and there were not that many horns.... the sound was not very clean either. I was not a fan of that Bandit.

User Info Menu

Well I did own several Special 130’s back in the early 1980’s Cheap and had more midrange than anything. Bandits were just even cheaper and heavy as well.
    Not a big fan of Peavey Guitar amps!

User Info Menu

I have to disagree with the dissing of the Bandits. I am most familiar with the USA Redstripe Bandit as I've owned one since my wife gave it to me early in this century. It's not the best amp in the world, but it's perfectly usable for my purposes - which include using the clean channel, not the lead channel, and get distortion (which I don't use all that much) from pedals. It's heavy, though, and I never cared for the cosmetics since Peavey did away with the side metal strips. It was plenty loud enough for archtop rhythm guitar in a 16-horn big band. Used, they're pretty good values.