The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Both are from early 80s.

Aria needs restoration , Greco is in perfect condition.

Both are not mine but I got them both to play for a while.

Totally different guitars.

I already have some thoughts but will try to play more and make detailed overview and comparison
    Attached Images Attached Images Aria Pro ii PE-175 Herb Elis prototype and Greco FA-700 (es175 copy)-20220413_124240-jpg 
    Last edited by Jonah; 04-16-2022 at 11:39 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Jonah,
    I can’t comment about the Greco, but I can give you a look at my PE-175.

I'm relatively new to jazz guitar, so I’m hardly an authority on gear; however, over the past year I’ve bought and sold a few guitars and amps to find what works for me and, for better or worse, my preference has gravitated toward the 1970s-80s MIJ guitars. They just seem to have the right blend of quality, character, tone and price that works for me. About one year ago I found one MIJ gem at a local guitar shop (it’s a 198? DJArgus Excel) and wasn't looking for another guitar, but while browsing Reverb about 6 months ago I came across a listing for a 1978 Aria Pro II PE-175 Herb Ellis that was hard to resist.

The guitar appeared to be in great shape with no rotting or cracking of the binding. The only noticeable demerit was that sometime over its 44-year history someone had replaced the original “H.E.” monogramed pickguard with a cheap, plain black plastic guard. The asking price was a little steep compared to others that I had seen but they are pretty rare and this one looked to be in really great condition despite the replacement pickguard, so I grabbed it before it ended up in someone else’s cart. After a few minor tweaks and a new set of strings the guitar was good to go, except the pickguard annoyed me.