The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Posts 26 to 50 of 92

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by ArchtopHeaven
    In the last video the rosewood sounded more like maple than his maple one .

Can you not hear the additional top end on the maple in the 3rd video???

It's a significant difference.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by mad dog
    I'm no scientist. ...
    [...must resist, must resist, cannot resist...]
    ...but you play one on TV?

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by vintagelove
    Can you not hear the additional top end on the maple in the 3rd video???

It's a significant difference.
    Listen very closely to the beginning of the 3rd video. In the first two examples, the rosewood sounds brighter and more metallic than the maple. Two characteristics I usually associate with maple.

Do you agree or disagree?

User Info Menu

the rosewood sounds brighter
    It most definitely does not sound brighter.

I'm going to see if I can easily measure it on my iPad.

User Info Menu

Archtopheaven: what is the point you're trying to make while indiscriminately discussing how there's variation within species and overlap between species?

User Info Menu

Living in the land of music is like taking a permanent vacation to the land of hyperbole.

I have had plenty of contradictory experiences, in regards to guitar and tone. However here is an experience that suggests to me that wood plays an impact to what tone color a particular guitar expresses.

I owned an american made tele for many years. Played the hell out of that guitar, during my development from really good guitarist to semi-professional (or professional depending on the definition based on income sources).