The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

I was removing the little caps on the tubes in my DRRI, and when looking underneath, I (laugh at me for this haha) realised that it's probably super easy to change the speaker! I still have in the stock Jensen "special design" speaker. I'm a neophyte to all of this gear stuff, but customizing my amp sounds fun. I'm a jazz guitarist, obviously. I mainly play bebop. What speakers out there should I consider? What differences should I expect?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Well now you're welcoming all sorts of personal opinions on what makes a good jazz sound and what amp speaker gets you there.
    I did a bunch of trials and errors and I have a Fender Princeton II that I love. Yeah it's super easy to swap out a speaker. The Princeton II has a 12" speaker and I wanted a warm jazzy sound that could approach the break up point smoothly and had the efficiency (more efficient, the louder per given amount of juice) I wanted to play anything up to a medium sized club and be clear.
    I have found Eminence to be a really great, friendly, helpful and high quality speaker maker and at least the last time I needed to swap out a speaker, very affordable. Depending on the amp, I'm always down to Eminence or Weber as my go to speaker choices.
    The 12" Cannabis Rex is what I have in my amp. That Princeton II is close enough in essentials to your deluxe that I can recommend you at least look into it. It uses a hemp surround that breaks in really sweet. I was surprised at how much it improved the sound of an amp I already loved. Warm, clear, responsive. It made my notes come forward and made me feel like I was a better player. That's my prejudicial account anyway. Have fun with your search.
    Eminence Speaker | The Art and Science of Sound
    https://www.tedweber.com/

User Info Menu