The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 43

User Info Menu

I've owned a Fender Deluxe Reverb reissue since around October 2019 which I bought new. Recently, I started noticing (more frequently) these bursts of crackling noises. I thought at first it was coming from my guitar since the volume and tone knobs were causing some crackling, but I unplugged my guitar from the amp to listen and see what happens. It's not consistent. Sometimes I'd hear it several times within ten minutes, other times it could be on for an hour or more and I hear nothing.

I'm a complete novice to tube amps and how they work. There is normal noise that raises and lowers with the volume knob and the reverb knob. Sometimes if I turn a knob too fast it crackles.

How much of this is normal and how much of this is something to be fixed? I'm from Belize, and there's no "amp technicians" down here - so I'm stuck with going off of advice from the internet.

Edit: Also, periodically I heard this very sharp "click" sound. At first I thought it was coming from the guitar because I had put on new strings, but nope, it's coming raw from the amp.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

90% of tube amp problems are tube related
    That sounds like a bad tube. Start by tapping the preamp tubes w a wooden stick like a chopstick or pencil and listen for a pinging (microphonic) sound. Have a new tube on hand to swap it out.
    Turning the knobs and getting scratchy sounds could just be an oxidized pot. Turn the knobs up and down several times quickly and see if it lessens.

User Info Menu

Woah! The knob thing worked.

I've been in quite a bit of amp trouble lately, and one thing I CAN say is that I'm definitely learning new thing by the day. Music has certainly taken me in directions I never thought I'd be in.

I read somewhere online that I'd have to replace ALL the tubes if I replace one.