The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 27

User Info Menu

I recently bought a vintage Gibson BR-6F amp (seems to be a 1954 model). I'm pretty new to buying any old gear at all. I'm still relatively new to tube amps in general, though I bought a Fender Deluxe Reverb Reissue a few years ago. My main reason for seeking out these amps is because I've seen Pasquale Grasso use a variety of vintage Gibson amps, whether it's the GA-50 or the Gibsonette, and I even believe he used a BR-6 before, in one of those streams with Rossano Sportiello.

All of this is to say, I've read stuff online about people upgrading the 2-prong plugs that are on these amps to a 3-prong plug. My questions are:

1. What is the use of this?
    2. Is it relatively simple for any electrician to do?

It looks like the original plug is still there in the one I bought.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

You take it to an amp tech and they'll fix it for you. With a 2 prong plug there's a chance you will plug it into an incorrectly wired outlet and your strings will be live instead of neutral. A potentially deadly issue. Keith Relf, Yardbirds lead singer, died from this and there is a gnarly video of Keith Richards taking a shock on stage back in the 1970's.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by AllanAllen
    You take it to an amp tech and they'll fix it for you. With a 2 prong plug there's a chance you will plug it into an incorrectly wired outlet and your strings will be live instead of neutral. A potentially deadly issue. Keith Relf, Yardbirds lead singer, died from this and there is a gnarly video of Keith Richards taking a shock on stage back in the 1970's.
    I'm from Belize. No such thing as an amp tech down here!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Loreto