The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 24 of 24
    As I'm sure many of you know, searching for one's first archtop can be a very overwhelming experience. I've been playing a D'Angelico Excel SS for around two years now, and despite the dark tones it can produce, I still have been able to stamp out the desire for an actual archtop. However, budget is a major factor; I'd be looking for something around 1200 on Reverb. I've really been looking at the Eastman models with the carved tops and laminate sides, but I figured I should ask a more experienced crowd if the carved spruce top is worth the money. I prefer a more electric sound, and have been relatively impressed with what both the laminate and spruce toped guitars can do. Is the spruce top worth it, or would I likely be satisfied with an all laminate guitar? Thank you.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

It is a matter of personal preference and also depends on the volume levels you normally play at. My main gigging guitar is a LAM-top model by Bryant Trenier, before it was a LAM-top
    by Victor Baker and before that I used a LAM-top by Roger Borys. My Ibanez GB-15 is a plywood model, too. The 3rd archtop in my stable is a Gibson Super-400 CES which has a thick and solid spruce top with sturdy braces. IMHO a solid spruce top on an archtop only really comes into it's own when it's an acoustic model, i.e. either with a floating pickup or non at all.
    In a band context the sonic nuances+differences become blurred and the louder+denser it gets, the less apparent these nuances become. That's my view after 35 years in the game...
    Take your time, save some more and look for a Heritage 575 or an Eagle in all-mahogany, Ibanez Metheny model, a Guild, something along those lines. When you don't have the chance to play one and buy on Reverb then do negotiate a return option.

User Info Menu