The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

Never thought I'd be asking something like this...

I've come to notice something strange with my Loar LH650, esp. the B string. It'll easily go flat when playing, either loudly (finger-digging-picking-in) or bending. So I'd tune it up, pull it (up, running a few fingers from saddle to nut and back), tune it back up etc. With the pulling I can easily get it from say 5ct sharp to almost 20ct flat. At some point though it'll start creeping back up of itself when I let it, which suggests tension is re-equilibrating itself on both sides of the nut and/or the saddle.

This begs the question how one gets the instrument in tune reliably...

I have over 30 years violin playing experience plus a blue monday on bass viol, you'd think I'm used to the behaviour of strings on a floating wooden bridge. I do know I helped new strings glide over the bridge when tuning them up with some graphite powder and by holding them up a tad with a finger just in front of the bridge (also helped preventing the bridge from being pulled forward). I played much more elastic strings (nylon and real gut) but once stabilised they didn't exhibit the kind of behaviour I'm seeing now. Of course tension is much higher on a violin, I rarely plucked them as vigorously, and bending ... makes little sense on a fretless instrument.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Are you sure it’s not the tuner? The string may slip from the tuning post if it’s not fastened properly, or if the tuner is giving out.

Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk

User Info Menu

Some things to check, which you've probably already thought of:

Have the slots in the nut been sized to accept the sizes of strings you're using?

Is the nut well-cut, i.e., are the slots straight? Is the bottom of each string slot flat and smooth? Are the sides smooth?

Do the tuners slip? Do the posts wiggle when there's no string attached?