The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

EDIT 01/07/2022:
    After working with it for a week, it's going back. Some of the sounds are really good but it's just way too glitchy.

Stream LittleWing Intro - 12 - 29 - 2021 - Nux by Jim Soloway | Listen online for free on SoundCloud
    Last edited by Jim Soloway; 01-07-2022 at 10:23 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Worthy replacement for Line 6 POD?

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by srs
    Worthy replacement for Line 6 POD?
    I'm very early in the process so I'm basing my answer on very limited experience but at this point my answer would be yes and no.

Both the Pod HD (and all of the devices in the Pod HD lineup) and MG-300 are dual purpose devices: they are both amp/effect modelers but they are also recording interfaces.

As a modeler, my initial impression is that the MG-300 is a LOT better. The sounds are better and there are more of them. The fact that it supports IR's, including user loader IR's means that it has a much more power interface for user defined patches. In general, the modeling just seems to be a couple of generations more advanced.

As a recording interface however, the Pod HD series provides way more significant features and some of those are going to be a bit difficult to replace. The Pod lineup starts at a much higher price point than the MG-300 and it shows. The MG-300 has no on/off switch. It lacks multiple speaker out ports, providing just a single shared 1/4" jack for headphones and speakers. Either I'm going to have to continue running in tandem with my Focusrite interface or I'm going to have to use cabling to expand the speaker setup (and even then, the speakers will be unable to co-exist with headphones).