The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

so, looks like i'm 1 for 4 in terms of guitars that arrived intact. The backstory to this is that when my dad died from covid in january, I stopped playing guitar for almost a year and switched to bass (he was a bassist). I probably averaged 4-5 hours of bass practice over the last 11 months. Eventually, I sold most of my guitars to fund bass gear. All I had left was my barrington bgw700, a strat and a tele. However, a month ago, I started playing guitar again and decided I needed a semihollow. I have been through many semihollows as you know. I like it better than the AS200 and/or scofield models. Mainly because I feel the sco/as200 are very bright and it makes it hard to get a smooth overdrive though they do have a nice bensony tone for clean jazz. The yamaha seems to get close to the clean bensony tone but to me sounds much closer to a 335, probably because of the full mahogany neck. It's got some bite and snarl to it which I also feel is missing a bit from the ibanez guitars. Quality is great. Better than any of the 3 or 4 recent ibanez guitars I've tried. The pickups are a little hotter than I like but yamaha deliberately uses hot pickups so that they sound full in single coil mode. The single coil mode sounds great. Not like Stevie Ray or anything but definitely works well for funk rhythm.

Inevitably someone will ask me how it compares to the seventy seven exrubato. I think the seventy seven has a very sweet tone, more mellow and 335-like than the yamaha and the one I had was very light - under 7lbs - but the yamaha is more versatile and "screams" more for fusiony playing. I like the middle position better on the yamaha and I think with the slightly longer scale (the seventy seven was 24.5, the yamaha 24.75), I like the articulation of the yamaha.