The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 25 of 25

User Info Menu

Please bear with me as I'm a relative newb to jazz guitar and I'm sure this topic has been heavily discussed here. I'm trying to decide which model of flat wound string to try on my Eastman AR580CE jazz archtop. I've been using Thomastik and D'Addario wound strings but I don't care for the screechy string noise. I'm also interested in ground wound and roller wound strings. I play mostly swing and bop and jazzy blues. I'm also interested in chord melody playing. In your opinion, what strings should I be considering? Thank you.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Pyramid flatwound strings are reliable and not expensive.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by jumpnblues
    I've been using Thomastik and D'Addario wound strings but I don't care for the screechy string noise.
    You’ve been using round wound Daddario and Thomastik or their flatwounds and you think even those are screechy? Those are likely the most two recommended flats here.

User Info Menu

I think he meant roundwound strings.

I'd suggest starting with D'Addario Chromes, since they're cheap and available anywhere. TIs are the Cadillac of flatwounds. Pyramids as mentioned are very good.

User Info Menu

Thomastik-Infeld are really nice, and their quality of manufacture is the highest. I've also tried Dogal (I think they're made in Italy?) and I liked them even more.
    Labella flat wounds are less expensive and their sound is different, just as pleasing but subtly different. Worth getting all these kinds and deciding which works best for your own instrument. Certain instruments will match well with certain strings, there is no doubt about that so you definitely want to be able to decide what feels/sounds/lasts and fits your own tastes.