The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 11 of 11

User Info Menu

Hey jazzers,

I have a nice '40 L5N that I would like to equip with a floating PU. Now, an obvious choice would be a DeArmond Rhythm Chief or something close. I have a gold foil mustachio PU that would fit well but I have no background on how it could sound.I suspect lots of high ends, maybe too much?

Advice needed on Gold Foil PU for my Gibson L-5-mustachio-jpg

Any advice would be welcome.

Thanks and regards.
    Last edited by Fred Archtop; 11-04-2021 at 03:40 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm not a big fan of them in general, though there are many variations that sound differently. I much prefer an old DeArmond, do you have access to one to compare?
    (If that's Dave's old guitar it deserves the best )

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by wintermoon
    I'm not a big fan of them in general, though there are many variations that sound differently. I much prefer an old DeArmond, do you have access to one to compare?
    (If that's Dave's old guitar it deserves the best )
    Thanks for your thoughts Winter. Yep, that’s Dave Barbour old axe

I’ve just had a nice pickguard installed, in the style of prewar S400. Fits very well. I need it electrified since there are concerts planed in 2022 where I will need it.

Best.

User Info Menu

Well looking at the pickup, it does have some gold foil, but that might just be ornamental. Judging by the adjustable screws in the middle, it's a P90 type of design and could sound similar to the DA 1100.

I suggest taping it in place under the strings and seeing what it sounds like, with the guitar laid flat. You just touch the two wires to a plugged-in guitar lead, with the inner wire to the tip of the plug ( obviously). It could be a hidden gem, although i doubt it will sound like a "gold foil" type.
    P90s types don't usually have too much high end.

Let us know..

User Info Menu