The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Posts 76 to 98 of 98
    Dutchbopper Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Christian Miller
    I wonder if there’s just not many self taught (or rather community taught) players in the US now? Mostly jazz is built around the colleges these days it seems to me… (NYC is kept going tourism.) Americans I’ve spoken to tend to be very into the college thing…. (Americans also tend to assume that if something doesn’t exist in the US it doesn’t exist.)

while in Europe you still find non college trained players especially in ‘gypsy jazz’ but even among people from outside the ethnic group who play that music.

Friends of mine talk about who Manouche players would cut visiting American stars at jams… (I’ve not been to Samois, never been able to make it down) - it has to be seen to believed. Ridiculous level of skill and virtuosity. The level where you are is crazy, some of my favourite jazz guitarists and not just the gypsy players….

of course, theres something special about NYC players - the energy and the swing is unique - - but that comes from being in NYC and being around that vibe all the time.
    Plenty of jazz guitar talent in continental Europe, especially in France, Italy, the Netherlands, Scandinavia and Italy. So many immensely skilled players with great taste and monster chops. In my small country alone MVI, JVR and Reinier Baas. We are talking about a few dozen of world class players here on the continent, so not just good ones. Most of them pretty much under the radar though in the US. It’s dazzling really, how good some of these guys are.

DB

Verzonden vanaf mijn iPad met Tapatalk

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by ArchtopHeaven
    I'm in South East England. I've seen John live 3 times. Unfortunately not in the early 70's or during Grace And Danger.