The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 169

User Info Menu

I've played a short scale on a Fender and it seemed okay, but that was a long time ago. My guitars have 24.75", 25" and 25.5" scales.

Garland played like greased lightening. Will I be like him on a shorter scale Byrdland? Oh, wait. He was very fast on all of his guitars.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

some people hate being cool and sounding awesome. it happens.

it isn't my favorite scale in the world or anything, but i have plenty of capo experience, so the byrdland doesn't bug me at all. your left arm sitting closer to the body is more of an adjustment than the scale to me. i don't know that the short scale makes it darker or slinkier as i use super heavy strings to keep the tension up. if anything, it's one of my brighter guitars. all the maple and spruce and ebony. maybe that's where some of the perceived quickness comes from, not to mention the relatively thin body. still plenty versatile, though. it loves to rock.

but they are somewhat rare and expensive gambles, so i understand the reticence and the slings and arrows from those who haven't really played one. they are very much a thing, and that thing just isn't going to be for everyone.

User Info Menu

I’ve owned 2 different Byrdlands 1969, and 1964 sharp cut.
    Beatiful guitars but the necks were both skinny width wise and to short of scale.
    I think a regular width and regular24&3/4” scale would have been a better option for Gibson. I prefer the long scale thin line Gibson L-5 CES models to the Byrdland overall.

User Info Menu

I've only played on one once; between the skinny width and the short scale it seemed a bit cramped up high. But I have big hands for a smaller guy. The slim *body* felt great.

User Info Menu

I've played one, a later 60s sharp cut and I really liked it. Lots of room to me but....