The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 30

User Info Menu

Hi
    I've played electric guitar for a long time and know how to do minor tweeks now and then on the action etc. I'm new to hollow body guitars though, with floating bridges and a tailpiece. I had my Ibanez AF155 set up a few months ago and it plays nicely and in tune. However after a while the trapeze tail piece started to slightly touch the top of the guitar on one side causing a vibration and odd harmonic sounds on certain notes. I put a tiny but of card in between to stop the "off" sound which helped. I tried adjusting the string height to see if that raised it and that helped. When jamming with friends yesterday I noticed it was touching the body again and doesn't sound right. I guess I don't know the basic principle of how the trapeze tailpiece works. I'd like to know how it should be adjusted, if possible, to lift it slightly so it doesn't touch the guitar top. Any advice would be welcome or direction to a similar post.
    Thanks

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Can you post pictures?

How to adjust trapeze tailpiece Ibanez AF155-tailpiece-1-jpgHow to adjust trapeze tailpiece Ibanez AF155-tailpiece-2-jpg
    Here are a couple of pictures

User Info Menu

You COULD try pinching that metal lip a bit tighter with some needle nose...but that's a NOTORIOUS point of breakage on those...

I'd be more inclined to get a piece of sticky felt under there to protect the guitars top and minimize vibrations and be done with it...

the other route is to completely change the tailpiece...

User Info Menu

My first thought when I saw those photos- that hinge is yielding (slowly separating).

User Info Menu

Tailpiece shoudn’t be like that at all!