The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 13 of 13

User Info Menu

Hello, I am a gigging jazz guitarist and I use a cheap 200$ strat for more pop and funk-like tunes. Recently, the electronics started failing so I am deciding to upgrade the electronics.

Any recommendations for good upgradable pickup, or a whole pickguard I can replace? I am planning to bring the guitar to a technician for electronic replacement

I want replacement pickups for my strat-strat-1-jpgI want replacement pickups for my strat-strat-2-jpgI want replacement pickups for my strat-strat-3-jpgI want replacement pickups for my strat-strat-4-jpg

Sorry for the rotated pictures

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Good pickups will be cost more than your guitar.
    I use APG humbuckers in singlcoile size in my "jazz Strato".
    Best
    Kris

User Info Menu

Reliability issues are likely the jack socket, switch or potentiometers. Less likely the pickups. If you dont like the sound of the pickups replace them.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Ryo17
    Hello, I am a gigging jazz guitarist and I use a cheap 200$ strat for more pop and funk-like tunes. Recently, the electronics started failing so I am deciding to upgrade the electronics.

Any recommendations for good upgradable pickup, or a whole pickguard I can replace? I am planning to bring the guitar to a technician for electronic replacement

I want replacement pickups for my strat-strat-1-jpgI want replacement pickups for my strat-strat-2-jpgI want replacement pickups for my strat-strat-3-jpgI want replacement pickups for my strat-strat-4-jpg

I’ve been pretty impressed by the build, fit and finish or entry level squiers tbh. I think you would get a lot out of new electronics. I would just strip everything out and replace with good quality.

User Info Menu

Too many options -- and you didn't mention budget? Like all gear, the range is $50 - $1000!