User Info Menu

Hi to all,
    I am a beginner and I do not have a guitar with a magnetic pickup.
    I have two acoustic flat top that I would like to use for jazz playing; this is mainly for two reasons: 1.75 wide nut and 2 1/4 string spacing at the bridge.
    So, I looked for a soundhole magnetic pickup. I started to check humbuckers but one of my two acoustic guitars has a small soundhole and the ones I found, do not fit.... casually I found the Gretsch Deltoluxe.
    On the Gretsch pages I have found that it is a Dearmond reissue Rhythm Chief 1000.
    I can have a pleasant "Jazzy dark tone" high on the neck, not so on the firsts frets; but I am at the beginning of my journey, so I think that I will keep it and work on my finger technique.

I start this thread to ask if you have some opinions or experiences with this pickup.
    I would like to hear some opinion from someone more advanced in the guitar jazz journey than me.
    Have a good day

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

That looks interesting…seriously I’ve not heard of it before. Reviews on Amazon are generally good.

I have a Fishman in-hole pickup for my acoustic. It sounds pretty decent. (And is quite cheap.) As always, depends on the sound you’re going for, but I enjoy playing jazz on smaller flattops, and with the right setup it sounds pretty nice.

https://www.stewmac.com/electronics/...CABEgJUJ_D_BwE

I’d be surprised if it wouldn’t fit in the sound hole of your guitar, but who knows.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Cri75!
    Hi to all,
    I am a beginner and I do not have a guitar with a magnetic pickup.
    I have two acoustic flat top that I would like to use for jazz playing; this is mainly for two reasons: 1.75 wide nut and 2 1/4 string spacing at the bridge.