The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Posts 26 to 50 of 60

User Info Menu

Tubes may be gone but I just checked over at "Gear Page" and everyone over there is using valves...

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I don't want to be precious about tube amp tone, either. I hear a lot of bushwa about tube tone vs. solid state tone from people with their guitars plugged into a dozen solid state pedals in front of their superior tube amp.... If tubes go away, we'll live.

User Info Menu

I have been a electronic technician for 39 years at one of the largest research centers in the world. So I know a little.

I got rid of all my tube equipment and spare tubes long ago. I am all digital. Not a bit sorry. Will never go back.

Too much money for stone age technology.

User Info Menu

Tubes are definitely not stone age tools. Early iron age, at least.

User Info Menu

We can either hoard tubes or toilet paper these days -- choose wisely.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by jazzkritter
    Back mid 80’s working for an airline at Newark/EWR, we noticed a group of hazmat suited people. They even had oxygen tanks, and some crazy looking equipment. So we checked into it. It was the site of the old RCA tube plant. We were told the standards back then were just dump the crud into the nearest stream, or ground. And someone wanted to build. (Condos, what else)))

So I wonder if current tube plants still follow that kind of practice, or are they more advanced in cleaning up after themselves? Given our sources: China, Russia, and JJ wherever they are ; I kinda doubt they’re doing A1 level controls.

TV Sweep tubes have little use outside of a 1960 Magnavox TV.