The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 10 of 10

User Info Menu

I've been playing guitar for 35 years, and struggling with poor picking technique the entire time. I tend to hit the string with a substantial portion of the pick when I play fast, as opposed to just the tip of the pick. For the most part, I've managed to compensate for this and can still play fast - but I do have to dig in a little. I can't really play fast with a light right-hand touch. I've tried so many different approaches to correct this, from using smaller picks to intense focussed right hand practicing, even trying to adopt completely different approaches to picking.

But after 35 years, I just want to make music when I play, and I want my practicing time (as precious as it is) to focus on musicality.

The truth is, my (flawed) picking technique is only an issue when I play a Strat or Tele; because I dig in when I play fast, my pick tends to strike the pickguard or even the pickup occasionally, and it makes a noticeable 'clicking' noise I can hear even through the amp. I have other guitars where this isn't an issue at all, as the strings are sufficiently high enough above the guitar body that my pick doesn't make contact (Gibsons, and PRS's mostly). But I do like playing my Tele, and the noise from the pick always annoyed me.

So here is my solution: I put down velcro (loop side) on the pickguard and pickup. It doesn't look pretty, but now I can hit the pickguard to my heart's content with no worry of hearing any 'clicks.'

-Travis
    My solution to my somewhat flawed picking technique-img_1710-jpg

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Brilliant! I have a similar problem and I think I'm going to try this!

User Info Menu

I know about those clicks!
    Never thought of your solution for dealing with them. Very clever.