The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 14 of 14

User Info Menu

Hi guys,
    I usually play Dunlop Jazz II. It's been my go to pick for many years. In my pick collection I have the huge JD jazztone 208, that I've been experimenting with on and off for about 15 years without much satisfaction until I just had a revelation.

Before I commit, I like to ask you about its siblings pictured above:
    -Are they all of the same thickness?
    -Do you think they differ in tone ?
    -Is the 205 similar to A Dunlop Jazz III ?
    -Do you use a pick from this family?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I've been using the 206 for years, just feels and works for me.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by JCat

Hi guys,
    I usually play Dunlop Jazz II. It's been my go to pick for many years. In my pick collection I have the huge JD jazztone 208, that I've been experimenting with on and off for about 15 years without much satisfaction until I just had a revelation.

Before I commit, I like to ask you about its siblings pictured above:
    -Are they all of the same thickness?
    -Do you think they differ in tone ?
    -Is the 205 similar to A Dunlop Jazz III ?
    -Do you use a pick from this family?
    I started my Jazztone experience with 206s, then added 205s. I modify the tips, blunting them just a tad. I am also very fond of the Jazz IIs in black.
    The 205 is not at all like the Jazz III. I use the Jazz IIIs in Ultex, also blunting them slightly (this takes a LOT of effort). Over-all I like the size and shape of the 205s. I wish they were a little thicker, like a lil' Stubby, which I also re-shape (again, a lot of work). My concept is that the last couple mms of a jazz plectrum should be a hemisphere, tapering up to the flattish sides. That's just me.

I haven't tried the 208s but I thing they would be great picks for acoustic flat-tops.

Quote Originally Posted by citizenk74