The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 26

User Info Menu

Whenever a complete newbie or novice asks me advice about buying an amp, I tell them to think of a triangle with 3 points, or 3 sides. Cost, Power, and Weight/Size. You can't have all 3 corners of the triangle being positive. Meaning low cost, high clean power, and light weight/size. I'm sure there are exceptions, but I can't think of any. If one of those 3 corners is in the negative, anther corner suffers.

Most low cost and lightweight amps have no real loud professional headroom.
    Most high power and small lightweight amps are expensive.
    Most small light amps are are either expensive or low power.

Now I am talking mainly about full combos here, not micro heads, because you still have to take into account a cab.

Anyone disagree?

WS

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I agree, but you sure can have the opposite: a heavy, expensive, high-power amp.

Quote Originally Posted by BigDaddyLoveHandles
    I agree, but you sure can have the opposite: a heavy, expensive, high-power amp.
    No actually that's the same rule, Big and heavy is a negative, so the cost goes up.

User Info Menu

.......That reminded me of a description of any manufacturing enterprise, from both the owners and customer's perspective - -

" You'll usually be able to choose from three criteria - - Price, design, and delivery - -

Pick two. "

User Info Menu